Apr. 1, 2013 – Re: Huhleew

from:  Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>
to:  Doug McKay
Mark McKay
Mark & Jeri MCKAY
date:  Mon, Apr 1, 2013 at 9:37 AM
subject:  Re: Huhleew

Hello!

We’re going to the Zoo today. I’m really excited.

So that little taste of a letter I sent about half an hour ago was about all the April-Foolsing I could bring myself to do. Mom, I know what a state you would be left in if that was the only letter I sent. So I’ll redeem myself with this one. These letters are always so long because I’m planning on saving them as extra journal entries. So the length of my letters are mostly for selfish reasons 😉
What a week! You know that phrase, “What goes up must come back down?” If you were to switch it around a little bit, it would really apply to missionary work. It’s more like, “What goes down must come back up!” Woo! I love the gospel. I love the scriptures. I love the feeling I get in my heart that tells me that everything I am doing out here as a missionary is right. So basically, this week was loaded with crazy experiences and miracles.
Let’s start out with Dick. Dick is a 90 year old man whom we tracted into about a week and a half ago. We had a pleasant discussion with him the first time we met with him and ended up teaching a lot of the plan of salvation. His wife passed away about 17 years ago and he is still mourning his loss. We left him with Alma chapter 40 in the Book of Mormon to read between then and the next time we would meet with him. About a week later, we stopped in on him again to see if he’d been able to read anything. He had the maintenance man over, so it was a bad time for a lesson, but he said, “I read the chapter you gave me, and I liked it so much, I read chapter 40 about three times, then went on to 41, 42, and 43 and then went back and caught 38 and 39. I told my neighbor that you’d be coming back and invited her over so we could have double lessons.” Wow. Even at 90, he’s still hungry for the truth. So we’re going to see him tomorrow.
And Steve. Sister Moon and I have a knack for tracting out and finding all the elderly people in Andover. Seriously, it’s kind of hilarious if you think about it. Steve is about 70 and is also very much missing his wife. His wife passed away about a year and a half ago, and he is still struggling with it. We shared the Book of Mormon with him and are going back to see him tomorrow as well. He doesn’t seem quite as open as Dick, but then again, we haven’t found out if he’s read out of the Book of Mormon yet. I had him read 2 Nephi 4 because it always gives me comfort and is also shortly after the prophet Nephi’s father passed away and Nephi is mourning the his death.
We had some great new lessons with Linda this week. She’s really progressing and understanding a lot more about the significance of the restoration of the gospel of Jesus Christ through Joseph Smith.
Saturday was a crazy day. We were invited to the special Annual Easter Pot-Luck in our cul-de-sac with all of the Harrison’s neighbors. It was so fun, and gave us a chance to meet a lot of our neighbors. We went tracting a little bit after that and then we visited Linda and she actually asked if we could talk about prayer. I love when investigators come right out and tell us what they need to hear. After that we went to help at the church to set up for Jackie’s wedding. Jackie is an amazing woman who just recently moved into our ward from a nearby ward. She has had some incredibly hard experiences in her life and has come to understand the atonement very well. It was supposed to start at 6, but the poor woman and her family ran out of gas and had to push their car to the gas station. On her wedding day. They didn’t let her push, thank heavens. So she ended up getting there at about 6:45. The groom was sweating bullets–poor guy. But the wedding was lovely and we finally got to our dinner appointment at 8 pm, where at the end they shot off fireworks celebrating Wichita State making it into the final four. And then we came home to find out that the Harrison’s basement flooded. Did I mention that we live in the basement? Whoops. Happy Easter. We were so blessed though because strangely enough, the water stopped at our bedroom door and didn’t damage any of our things. And the basement is healing nicely now, so all is well.
And then Sunday! We had an amazing Easter Miracle! Saturday night we received a referral from our zone leaders for a woman named Yvonne. She is going through a divorce and is really searching for peace. She agreed to have missionaries visit her house, and when we arrived, she let us right in. We had a great lesson with her and taught her about the restoration and invited her to be baptized once she found out it was true. She accepted! So she  is preparing to be baptized the end of April. Talk about an amazing experience.
Well I’m done with this chapter of the Amazing Adventures of Sister McKay. Tune in next time, same place and (more or less) same time!
Sister McKay
Leave a Reply

