Apr 8, 2013 – General Conference is to a missionary as Christmas is to everyone else.

From: Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>

Subject: General Conference is to a missionary as Christmas is to everyone else.

Date: April 8, 2013 11:14:58 AM MDT

To: Mark & Jeri MCKAY, Doug McKay

Hello!

You know, it’s incredible how missionary service works. Sometimes you work your tail off and look back at the week and it doesn’t seem like much has happened. Other times, you work your tail off to the same extent as before and you look back to see a week full of miracles. This has been one of those weeks. I don’t feel like we have been doing very much different, because the entire time we have been trying to follow the spirit, striving to be exactly obedient, and working to be best of our abilities to do what the Lord would have us do and become better missionaries. But we were immensely blessed the last couple of weeks, and I know it is because of diligence and obedience. It is truly a manifestation that blessings come in accordance to obeying the laws upon which they are predicated. Conference talked a lot about obedience. Life doesn’t always just give us apple pie. We have to put forth some effort. However, if we are constantly and consistently obedient, we will always be gathering the ingredients so that eventually we will have enough ingredients to make an apple pie. We may not feel like we are prospering all the time, but as we are diligent, we can be assured that we WILL prosper eventually. Sometimes we’re gathering ingredients, sometimes we’re feasting upon the results, but ALWAYS, whether gathering or feasting, we’re blessed—if we are obedient. That last bit is the caveat of God’s laws. Obedience is key. There’s a member of our ward who always says, “When praises go up, blessings come down.” Well, what is the best way to praise? Be obedient. Jesus Christ said, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” We must be obedient if we desire to be entitled to the promised blessings of our Father in Heaven.

So, long story short, we’ve tried to be obedient the entire time we’ve been in this area, and now we are prospering.

Yes Mom, we did actually go to the zoo. That was not an April Fools joke. And it was the best. It was actually raining the entire time we were there, but it wasn’t very cold and we had umbrellas, so it was still fun. In fact, we had the entire zoo to ourselves, so I’d say we got our money’s worth. It was an awesome zoo. Not quite as great as the Amazon jungle in Peru, but for Kansas, it was pretty great. 🙂

We just taught Yvonne the Word of Wisdom. We had to teach her as soon as possible, because she is a really heavy smoker and is planning to be baptized the end of the month. Please keep her in your prayers to have a desire to quit. Addictions are hard, and she’s been smoking since she was about 13–over 44 years. Through Jesus Christ, all things are possible…but extra prayers always help!

Conference blew my mind. Every session just got better and better (You should see my notes). I’ve always been taught and known that if you take a question to conference and ask Heavenly Father to help you to receive an answer, you will. Elder Holland said, “Heavenly Father hears humble hearts.” I had three specific questions and things that I have been studying for the past couple weeks that I really needed help with. I was amazed at the exactness to which my questions were answered. Each question I’d asked was specifically answered by talks that seemed to be directly catered and designed for me. I was amazed. I had other questions answered and insights taken from many areas during conference, but I was amazed at the magnitude and power of the answers I received. Heavenly Father truly cares about the smallest and humblest sparrow. He truly cares about me.

And a word to the wise that stood out with resounding strength to me during conference: Hold fast to your hard earned faith, never discounting that which you have already won. How firm a foundation we have as saints of the Lord that is laid by our faith in His excellent word!

Love you all! Have a wonderful week!

Sister McKay

PS- Mom, thanks for the package! Love you! And I sent a few pictures: Two from the zoo (Sister Moon and I in the jungle and me hi-fiving an orangutan) and two from zone conference we had a couple weeks ago. Sister Moon and I are the only sisters in our zone, but we had three zones at the conference.

PPS- I’ve been called as a potential trainer, so the likelihood of my companion and I staying together another transfer is looking pretty slim… Especially because she was called as a potential trainer as well. We’ll know more certainly in about a week.

IMG_0971 Zone Conference Siss' McKay, Porter, & Moon IMG_1032

Leave a Reply

