June 3, 2013 – Miracles and a Stuffy Nose

From: Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>

Subject: Miracles and a Stuffy Nose

Date: June 3, 2013 10:40:43 AM MDT

Miracle May was truly a promise fulfilled. We had a mission fast the beginning of May for the Lord’s will to be done with transfers and the mission split. We were promised that if we pressed forward with an attitude of “Thy will be done,” and “Come what may and love it,” we would see miracles in our lives, our families lives, and the lives of our investigators. I have seen so many miracles this last month! I am so grateful for my time to be a missionary.

 

Here are a few updates: I am feeling better 🙂 I haven’t had to blow my nose so much for a really long time, but it’s gradually getting better. Sister Beuchert is pretty much over it, so I should be soon. Transfers were on Thursday. The good news is, I get to stay in Andover! The bad news is Sister Stewart was transferred. The good news is Sister Beuchert and I are still companions. The bad news is…well there’s really no more bad news. I’m stoked I get to stay here at least one more transfer. That’s a long time for one area–six months! But I love it here so I am not complaining in the least bit. We did love our trio though, so it’s strange that Sis. Stewart is gone.

 

So this last week started out the worst and ended the best ever. I swear, missionary work has more ups and downs than an elevator. It was so hard the beginning of the week when we were all sick. I felt like we were wasting so much time and not being as obedient as we should have been. We had permission to stay home an extra hour from President for Sister Stewart to take a nap, but even with permission it was hard to stay home. If we aren’t busy, staying focused on the work is really difficult. The only way to be completely happy in the mission field is to devote all time to the Lord. It is when you slow down or stop that discouragement steps in. 

 

Tuesday night we found out Sister Stewart would be transferred, so Wednesday we had to spend even more time inside so she could pack. Thursday held transfers and weekly planning (which takes forever), so due to circumstances, we were hardly able to proselyte at all that week. However, Sister B. and I knew that there was one more day in “miracle may”, so we decided to work harder than we ever had on Friday so we could find the people that had been prepared for us to teach them. We set out Friday morning with a goal of teaching 6 lessons and 1 member-present lesson and to find 4 new investigators. (4 new investigators was our goal for the entire week, so to find them in one day would be pretty huge). We got home at 9:28 pm and had taught 7 lessons, 1 member present lesson, and had found all four new investigators. That was a miracle day. The spirit was working hard in both of us to help us know where to go and what to say. What a great way to spend May 31, the last day of the month, eh? I have all kinds of incredible stories just about this day in particular, but it would take forever to type. Just know that the Spirit is the most powerful source by which we can achieve anything. 

 

Something that has resonated so soundly in my mind and heart this week is the principle that we “receive no witness until after the trial of [our] faith.” What would have happened if we wouldn’t have stepped it up Friday with the faith that we could achieve miracles? Nothing. That’s just it. Our faith will be tried. Our faith will be tested. We will be molded and stretched every which-way possible, but ultimately we will prevail if we keep our faith. Faith is more than just a feeling or belief. Faith is power. I loved in general conference when Elder Holland admonished us to “fan the flame of [our] faith. This is key. When trials come, fan harder! I have found that when the Lord sees us trying stay strong against opposition to our faith and we seek his help, he will send us strength in the hour of need. Furthermore, nothing is worth anything unless we have to work a little bit for it. My faith is more precious to me now because I have seen it grow, even after being beaten upon by tests and trials throughout the course of my mission, and my life. Though my faith is not a perfect knowledge yet, one day it will be, for it will continue to grow as I strive to nourish it. Then on that great day, when I see the Lord in His glory, I will be able to say, “I know you already, for I have felt your embrace, even when I could not see you.”

 

Then Saturday…(I know, it just keeps getting better and better)…Sahar was baptized! She was so happy and her countenance shone. Two long years of waiting for this day and it finally happened. It was a beautiful service, and she didn’t even mind that it happened in a font rather than a pond. The elders that taught about a year and a half ago her came back. One baptized her and the other confirmed her in sacrament meeting the next day. It was so amazing. 

 

Linda is doing so well 🙂 She drove us, her grandson, an investigator named Chris, and two kids from the ward to church in her brand new van. It was so great. Roy came to church again on Sunday. We invited him to live the word of wisdom. He mostly struggles with drinking…and (we found out yesterday) he only smokes when he drinks. Iyiyi (like that’s any better). But he said he would follow it! He still hasn’t really felt anything from reading the Book of Mormon, but we felt prompted that if he would live the word of wisdom, he would receive his answer.

 

We found another new investigator Sunday night from a referral from someone who wasn’t interested (hah!). It was awesome. He’s a retired veteran and is going through a rough time. We are excited to teach him. I don’t think I can ever express in words how much I love being a missionary. Even on bikes. Actually, I like riding bikes more than driving a car, because it makes it easier to talk to people. It takes longer, but that’s pretty much the only downside because we’ve almost mastered riding in skirts…almost 😉

 

The mission is still being split on July 1. I’m 99.9% sure that I’ll stay in the Wichita mission, but there is one more tiny transfer the middle of this month for about 8-10 missionaries. Since there are only 320 missionaries in our mission (haha) I’m not expecting to be one of those few. 

 

Well you all have a lot to read today…so good luck 🙂 

 

Sister McKay

Leave a Reply

