Testimonies and Liberals – August 19, 2013

From: Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>

Subject: Testimonies and Liberals

Date: August 19, 2013 11:49:40 AM MDT

Surprise! It’s TRAAAAAAAANSFER week and although I’ve only been back in Wichita for a transfer…I’m getting TRAAAAAAAAAAANSFERED! But even crazier is I’m getting a language switch as well! 

 

That is correct. I will now be…

 

HERMANA MCKAY, serving in LIBERAL, KS. The area covers the place where Wizard of Oz was filmed and also part of the Oklahoma panhandle! I’ll still be a sister leader, I’ll just be on the other side of the state. My new companion and other-sister-leader-half, Sister Nash, is learning Spanish as well, and we’re training a new missionary who (thankfully) is a native Spanish speaker already. Her name is Sister Torres. So we’ll help her with missionary stuff and she’ll help us with language stuff. Crazy, huh? I swear, I’m just a moving target for all of the curve balls Heavenly Father wants to throw at me. But I’m way excited for this new adventure. Again, we’ll be the first sisters EVER in the area (so far, those have been the only places I’ve been, so I’m free to make my own first impression).

 

Sister Beuchert is going up to Topeka and training another new missionary. Sister Moon is also a sister leader in Missouri. Sister Tenney is leaving for Brazil TODAY! We’re so excited for her. So this e-mail is going to be short, just because we’re pressed for time. Please keep me in your prayers…I’m going back to baby missionary status as I try to remember all the Spanish I’ve ever learned and then some.

 

I got to see Linda yesterday at a fireside/testimony meeting for recent converts the mission president put on. She is doing SO GOOD. I cried when she bore her testimony…did you hear that? She bore her testimony! 

 

Love you all! This is truly God’s work! I’m so grateful to be a part of it and I’m so grateful to be serving in the Kansas Wichita Mission!

 

Love,

Hermana McKay

Leave a Reply

