Happiness and Favorite Things – November 18, 2013

From: Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>

Subject: Happiness and Favorite Things

Date: November 18, 2013 3:06:51 PM MST

 

Heavenly Father really loves me.

 

Tuesday night was a tough one, and so was Wednesday morning. It was one of those times when I just wasn’t myself. So I said a little prayer and asked Heavenly Father to help me be happy. About 30 minutes later, we texted Brother Hartley and asked him if I could get a blessing, so he said he could give me one on his lunch break. Not long after, Sister Hartley brought me a cute little mini rose plant with yellow and orange roses (my favorite colors) and gave me a big hug. Then we started receiving these random text messages from members of our branch saying they just wanted to let us know how much we mean to them, the difference we’ve made, how much they love and admire us, etc. We got like five. Sister Ramirez called and asked us to “pencil her in” for 2:00. Then later, a sweet sister that we love but who had also been going through a hard time (and had been visiting often) called and just wanted to say she loved me. 

Fast forward about 2 hours–Sister Hartley came to pick us up and take us to her house for me to get a blessing. I was told in the blessing some things that I needed to hear and advice on what to do. It helped a ton. And then she fed us lunch, which were left-overs, but just happened to be some of my favorite things, and shared some fresh pumpkin bread (which is also one of my favorites). We went home afterwards and I was feeling a lot better. We weekly planned and then Sister Ramirez came and brought us both flowers in our favorite colors and little toy dogs because she knew we loved dogs (more favorite things). She took us out to get frozen yogurt and we had a nice chat with her for a little bit. So then we went home and finished weekly planning and had dinner. Then Kebbie called and said she’d made us peanut butter cookies, but didn’t know if we liked them. I love peanut butter cookies!! That evening we went to young women’s with one of our investigators and had a “P” Party (they were doing personal progress) and there were pretzels, and peanut butter, and pizza, which are more of my favorite things. I was just so amazed at all the tender mercies that had filled my day. All I had done was ask Heavenly Father to help me be happy, and he gave me an entire day filled with my favorite things, even though I have never told anyone in Liberal that I liked any of these things. Woah. Weird. I told Sister Hunter (and then shared with the young women), “Wow. Heavenly Father really loves me.” And I just kept saying it. And saying it. It ended up being the phrase for the day…and week…and probably the rest of my mission. Every time anyone would ask me how I was, I would say, “Great. Heavenly Father really loves me.” And now it’s a joke between us and the YW that it’ll be ok if you’re feeling bad, because Heavenly Father really loves Sister McKay!

God really does answer prayers. He spoiled me this week.

We had a sweeeeeeet lesson this week with a cute 15 year old girl and her whole family! We’ve been teaching her for months, but were able to teach her, her dad, her brother, aunt, cousin, other aunt, and 3 little cousins on Friday night. It was probably the best restoration lesson we’ve taught since we’ve been companions. Every one was so excited and attentive. In fact, one girl said, “I just feel really really happy right now and I don’t know why! I mean, I’m usually happy, but I’m reeeeeally happy!” It was so cool. Then Stephanie, her dad and brother (Alfred Sr. and Jr.) all came to church on Sunday! So did Jan and Sam and Kristin and Chloe. 6 investigators at church! It was great. It’s been an awesome week, and I’m excited to have another one!

Love,

Sister McKay 

Leave a Reply

