Cat Naps and Emergencies – December 2, 2013

From: Jessica McKay <jessica.mckay@myldsmail.net>

Subject: Cat Naps and Emergencies

Date: December 2, 2013 11:21:57 AM MST

This week we had an emergency transfer and I almost had to go to the emergency room. Friday afternoon the assistants called and announced that Sister Hunter would be transferred up to Burlington, Colorado on Monday morning. We were shocked. We were both under the impression that we would at least stay together until the week before Christmas because we just had transfers two weeks ago. However, there was a sister who needed to be sent to Wichita due to some medical needs. Actually, Sister Torres was transferred this morning too. She’s going to serve in Wichita. So this morning they both went up to Garden City with the Starkeys and I am staying with Sister Nash and Barrera for a couple days. Back to the trio haha. I’ll pick up my new companion, Sister Fuller (who was in the MTC with me!) on Wednesday when we go to Wichita for mission leadership council. Missions are always full of unexpected changes…I can only think of one transfer in my whole mission where what I expected actually happened, and that was my first one. It’ll be fun to have Sister Fuller as my companion. I’m going to train her to be a new sister leader…so who knows what will happen next transfer! Here’s our sister crew before transfers:

Image

 

Now, sorry for the scare about the emergency room, Mom. I didn’t actually have to go. What happened was… I mentioned that I wasn’t feeling well last Monday morning, and it proceeded to get worse as the day went on. By 7:30 that night, my neck was so sore and stiff I could barely move. Sister Hunter thought I had strep, and honestly it’s been so long since I’ve had it I wasn’t really sure what to look for. We called the mission nurse and she said to take my temperature, so we had to go all the way to walmart to buy a thermometer, which didn’t work anyways because the first readout said I was basically dead at a whopping 94 degrees. So that didn’t help us a whole bunch. There isn’t an instacare or anything in Liberal, so if I were to go to the doctor that night, we would’ve had to go to the hospital. I did not want to go to the hospital that night, so we called President Willis, went to his house so I could get a blessing, and he said he would set up an appointment for the next day. We were supposed to go up to Burlington to do an exchange, but had to cancel because I was so sick. The next day the doctor said I didn’t have the strep bug, but I basically had the same thing, so she put me on some heavy antibiotics and decongestants and I slept for the next 48 hours, only getting up to eat and use the bathroom. I haven’t been that sick for a long, long time. But thanks to blessings, lots of prayers, and some powerful medication, I am almost 100% back to normal now! I was up and walking by Thursday, so I was grateful I didn’t ruin our Thanksgiving. Thanks to my sickness though, I was unable to gorge and stuff myself silly as I have on every thanksgiving previous to this one. Bummer, huh? It’s ok, we had another even bigger thanksgiving dinner with some members the next day.

Crazy week! Jan and Sam were on vacation for thanksgiving, but came back by Sunday morning just so that they “could go to [their] classes.” His baptism is on Saturday and we are so excited. They are amazing! 

Watch this cute video when you can spare 3 minutes in your busy lives: http://www.mormonchannel.org/video/mormon-messages?v=2874125972001 It’s called The Reason Behind Christmas on mormonchannel.org. It made me think of how charity is so important in our lives. I read a scripture this week that says, “And if you have not faith, hope, and charity, you can do nothing.” D&C 18:19. I am just beginning to touch the surface of understanding these attributes of Christ. We can do nothing of great measure, impact, or importance if we do not have faith, hope, and charity or if we don’t do it without these three things. Moroni 7:48 counsels us to pray with all the energy of our hearts to be filled with the love our Savior has for each of our brothers and sisters. This Christmas season, I challenge you to pray for more charity. Pray to feel the way the Lord feels about someone you are struggling with or someone who needs a friend. 

Will you pray for Debbie? She’s an investigator and has really had a rough time recently. She could use a lot of prayers. 

Thanks for all you do and all your love! Have a wonderful week!

Love, Sister McKay

Leave a Reply

