Hair Dryers and Hot Tamales-Part 3

Hair Dryers and Hot Tamales-Part 3

Wednesday we had exchanges! First exchanges this transfer! It was so nice. Fun change to just be a normal missionary. But then again, what is a normal missionary anyways? Missions are never normal, so missionaries can’t be normal either, can they? This was at our service on Tuesday:

Antique hair dryer. Never seen one before in my life. We made such a huge fuss about it one of the ladies who came in wanted to buy it right then. She couldn’t because we weren’t finished sorting everything yet, but it was funny that she wanted it so bad just because we were so obsessed with it. Oh also: You know that family of 7? We’re teaching their sister and brother in law now too. This branch is going to explode 🙂 And special shout out to my companion Hermana Hymas: She is amazing. But that word doesn’t even explain it good enough. She is just wonderful 🙂

This has been the greatest experience I could have ever hoped for. I’ll admit it was quite the roller coaster, but I’ve learned so many things that I know have and will continue to prepare me for the rest of my life. I know with all my heart that Joseph Smith was a prophet. He was called by God to restore the true church of Jesus Christ in this time that we are preparing for Christ to come again. I know the Book of Mormon is true and that it is the most inspired book we have. I am more than grateful for it. Through the Book of Mormon, I’ve moved from just having a testimony to being converted to the gospel of Jesus Christ. How lucky are we that we have it in so many languages! I know God loves His children. I know Jesus Christ is the Son of God and the Savior of the world. I know that the priesthood, or the authority of God has been restored to the earth and we can all be blessed by it. Families were meant to be eternal and they can be through the restored gospel. How precious it is to know that we have a Heavenly Father who loves us infinitely and intimately and that we can return to live with him one day! I love being a missionary. I know God pours out blessings on his missionaries. I believe in the gift of tongues and that God puts us in the place we are most needed. I’ve seen it so many ways! Can’t wait to see my family, but this is the most bitter sweet thing I’ve ever experienced. I know I have been changed immensely from my service, but I know that it will continue to have an effect on me many years from now. Ok. I’m finished. (Almost). In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen!

Love you all!
Hakuna Matata,
Hermana McKay

Leave a Reply

